History and Heritage of Ashridge

Ashridge has always been a renowned seat of learning. It originated as a monastic order called the ‘College of Bonhommes’ in 1283 and returned to education in the twentieth century. The current building dates from the early 19th century and was designed by the architect James Wyatt. Ashridge House and Gardens are open for guided tours annually during April and August. (excludes Bank Holidays).

View the interactive timeline below to discover the rich history of Ashridge.